Lust, Love and Everything Else that Follows.

Love Pic

I recently read a saying that went something like “marry someone that loves you more than you love him.”  This struck me as strange. Love someone you love and loves you back.  The strength of your love will shift, as we ourselves shift as wild creatures.  The life experiences you face will challenge the both of you, sometimes in different ways.  Love someone you believe in and who believes in you.  We need to be challenged. Love someone who loves you at your lowest and raises you up to be your best.  And return that favor.

Lust.  I remember when a lingering kiss on my check could make my toes curl.  When my hand being held could send electric shocks through my soul.  And oh my gosh the butterflies.  And then you are in love.  IN LOVE.  What better feeling.  You are giddy with happiness.  Your brain and heart have melted together and you live in this hazy state of bliss.  Then — everything else that follows happens.  Break ups, hurt, marriage, babies.

You know what I’m talking about.  Most likely you are living it now or have lived this.  The jobs, the financial struggles, losing loved ones, fights with teenage children, there is a child in your bed every night.  Now there is a dog in your bed and there’s no milk!  Your sons’ favorite clothes are dirty. Your husband says your never give him attention.  You gain weight. You find grey hair.  You celebrate, you cry, you scream; how did you turn 40!?  You lose yourself.  You lose your way.  You find yourself.  You find your way  back. You choose the unsteady path; you are brave, you are fearless.

Now love looks different, feels different, to me.  It is no longer a sharp object with defined lines.  Love has become blurry and it is entwined with every little event in my day.  It is a good morning, a goodbye, an afternoon call and a goodnight.  It is hearing thank you and that I look beautiful.  It is thanking me for dinner and teaches our kids to do the same.

In a world where romance seems “50 Shades” dead, I still find love and romance in my life.  Every time I hug my husband I stand on my tiptoes.  And every time I stand on my tip toes he lowers himself so my feet are grounded and he bends down me.  I just realized he has been doing this for all of our time together.  Now that is romantic.

Leave a comment