I’m really trying to be one with nature — wait what’s that noise?!!!

I’m trying, really, truly.  I am trying to be a “nature girl.”  I love the idea of being strong  and wild, in synch with what nature has to offer. Is it only the idea I love?   Maybe; I do tend to romanticize things.   I have this ever-reaching picture of myself hiking with strong legs and lungs.  Tending to my English garden, growing a vegetable garden.  Composting.  Collecting rain in a bucket to re-use.

And I have grown leaps and bounds people!  Let me just tell you, that not that many years ago I had no idea how to plant flowers.  The first time I bought a flat of Impatiens, I waited a couple of days and when I went to plant them there were silverfish scrambling – this about brought me into cardiac arrest and then I almost gave up on planting the flowers.  Now?  I simply brush them away – how bad ass is that?  Today I get dirty (ok I usually wear gloves but isn’t that just common sense?), I brush away most of the small bugs and keep planting.  I weed and water.  But I want more, I want to be more of a “nature girl.”

Here’s the thing though, I hate bugs and rodents.  And wild animals.  Ok maybe not the wild animals but they scare me.  I scare easily – and I scream and I run.  Nature girls can’t  scream at the sight of a butterfly flying towards them (in my defense it was a really big butterfly and flying right for my face!).

I also have excellent hearing.  This aids me in identifying when an animal is near.  When in a group outdoors I am vigilant in listening for anything I may have to run away from.  Let’s face it, I will leave my friends in my dust!  I will also state that I’m pretty observant, if there is something I don’t hear but someone else hears a wild noise, I can see it in their expression.

So where does this leave me?  Sigh….. it leaves me with mediocre landscaping, no vegetable garden and no fire pit that I was going to build next year.  But it also leaves me hopeful,  there is always next Spring, and I may just surprise myself!

Leave a comment